Follow us...
Home  >  Authors From Aberdeen  >  Margaret Aitken

Margaret Aitken

Biography Of Author Margaret Aitken

Margaret Aitken was born on the Orkney Islands and in her book In My Small Corner Orkney - Memories of an Orkney Childhood she recalls her idyllic life on the island. From walks with the naturalist and poet Robert Rendall, living within a close knit community, the experiences of The Brethren religion, the captivating countryside and changing landscape, the wildlife and friends and neighbours. Visits to the nearby islands of Westray, Eday and Rousay are shared with the reader.

Follow us on: Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.

Contact Me.

My new novel:

Group Novel Front Cover

Nine grieving Aberdeen families, one dark secret. Can love triumph?

Group is the new emotionally raw psychological character-driven suspense romance by author C.G. Buswell

Buy on Kindle and other devices or Paperback.

Books Written By Author Margaret Aitken

Margaret moved around Scotland with her lighthouse keeper husband, Jimmy, and shared these experiences with readers in her book Twelve Light Years. It describes life in the two lighthouses Stroma in the Pentland Firth and Buchan Ness in Boddam, Aberdeenshire.

Whilst in Aberdeenshire in the 1970s Margaret explored the surrounding Buchan Coastline and wrote the book Six Buchan Villages Revisited which describes the Castles in the area (Boddam Castle and Slains Castles) and their history. It also explains the history of the Buchan fishing villages of Cruden Bay, Boddam, Bullers o' Buchan, Collieston, Whinnyfold and Oldcastle, through interviews and narrations by local people who recalled earlier life, customs and traditions.
Over 30 years later Margaret revisited the area and updated her book with a second edition that explored the impact of the demise of the railway network and the booming oil industry in the North East of Scotland.

Margaret Aitken now lives in Cruden Bay, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, UK.

Buy Books By Margaret Aitken

Buy books by by Margaret Aitken.

More famous Aberdonian writers.

One last war aberdeen author
An army veteran moves his family back to his Aberdeenshire home, but his nightmare neighbour starts a battle of wits with him. Who will win this One Last War?
Buy this latest novel by local author C.G. Buswell on Kindle or Paperback.

Advertise Here from just £90.

Advertise On About Aberdeen

© Site contents copyright 2004-2022. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy / Disclaimer