Home > Castles of Aberdeenshire and Scotland >
Guide, Tour, History, Ghosts And Photos Of Gight Castle by River Ythan Methlick Aberdeenshire
The History Of Gight Castle
All that is left of Gight Castle is ruined remains of the 16th-century L-plan tower house, covered in ivy. It can be found on the north bank of the River Ythan, 4 miles East of Fyvie.
The castle was home to the Gordons for many Centuries from about 1480 when they acquired the land of Gight. The second Laird, George, built the castle in 1560, having inherited the land from his father who died at the Battle of Flodden. The Gordons were an unlucky family and members died following a series of murders, executions, drownings and loss in battle.
Follow us on: Instagram
The last Laird of Gight Castle was the 13th, Catherine Gordon. Her husband, nicknamed Mad Jack Byron was a gambler and in 1787 the castle was sold to clear his gambling debts. Their son was Lord Byron, the poet.
The castle was purchased by the 3rd Earl of Aberdeen who gave it to his son Lord Haddo and his wife Charlotte Baird. Unfortunately Lord Haddo was killed at Gight when he fell from his horse. The castle was then abandoned and became ruinous.
The Ghosts Of Gight Castle
It was said that in the grounds of the castle, the Lairds dabbled in witchcraft and wizardly. Today the Devil still enjoys visiting the grounds for a feast with the Gordon followers.
A piper was sent to explore an underground passage and did not return - the sound of pipes can still be heard at the Castle, though no piper is ever seen...
More Scottish Castles
Advertise Here from just £100.