Follow us...
Home  >  Sports  >  Balmoral Road Race

Balmoral Road Race

Each year, at the end of April, Royal Deeside hosts a 10 kilometre road race at Balmoral Castle. It's quite a spectacle with many runners dressed in kilts and wearing tartan running shorts, t-shirts and clothing.

The starting pistol of the Balmoral Road Race is an artillery field gun!

If you have a photo of the Balmoral Road Race that AboutAberdeen may use on this page then please contact me.

Follow us on: Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.

Contact Me.

My new novel:

The Fence Aberdeen Zombie post apocalyptic military survival Novel Book

The Aberdeen skies are under attack from an enemy jet. It is spilling a strange yellow smoke. Minutes later, people start killing each other.
Former Royal Air Force Regiment Gunner Jason Harper witnesses this and then his wife, Pippa, telephones him, shouting that she needs him. They then get cut off. He sets straight out, unprepared for the nightmare that unfolds during his journey. Everyone seems to want to kill him.
Along the way, he pairs up with fellow survivor Imogen. But she enjoys killing the living dead far too much. Will she kill Jason in her blood thirst? Or will she hinder his journey through this zombie filled dystopian landscape to find his pregnant wife?
The Fence is the first in this series of post-apocalyptic military survival thrillers from the torturous mind of local horror and science fiction novel writer C.G. Buswell.

Download Now.

Buy the Paperback.

In addition to the race there is entertainment and a real carnival atmosphere for the spectators and runners such as:
  • Falconry and Bird of Prey Displays
  • Ferret Racing
  • Highland Dancing
  • Junior Highland Games
  • Secondary and Primary School 2.5km race
  • Gypsy Gaelic Dancing
  • Ceilidh
  • Face Painting
  • Children's 1.5km race

Aberdeen Lynne Golden Retriever

Have you seen my beautiful golden retriever Lynne out and about in Aberdeen? Ask her for a high-five! She's a Bravehound PTSD assistance dog, so we'll often be in shops, restaurants, and the cinema together.

We've written a book where I talk about growing up in Aberdeen and then joining the army to be a medic and nurse, and developing military Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

I also talk about losing my son to suicide and the therapy I have had at Royal Cornhill Hospital and grief support groups in Aberdeen.

The author, Damien Lewis, said of Lynne:

"A powerful account of what one dog means to one man on his road to recovery. Both heart-warming and life-affirming. Bravo Chris and Lynne. Bravo Bravehound."


Buy the paperback.

One last war aberdeen author
An army veteran moves his family back to his Aberdeenshire home, but his nightmare neighbour starts a battle of wits with him. Who will win this One Last War?
Buy this latest novel by local author C.G. Buswell on Kindle or Paperback.

Advertise Here from just £70.

Advertise On About Aberdeen

Balmoral Road Race Winners

Balmoral Road Race 2012

The winners of the Balmoral Road Race 2012 can be found at

Balmoral Road Race 2011

The ConocoPhillips 5km Bamoral Castle Road Race winner was Ben Hukins with a time of 17 minutes and 44 seconds, followed by Myles Edwards. Dan Whitehead took third place. The 2011 Balmoral Road Race took place on Sunday 24 April. The Stena Drilling Tartan 10km Balmoral Road Race winner was Martin Williams.

Balmoral Road Race 2009

The Balmoral Road Race 2009 took place on Saturday 25 April. The 10K race was sponsored by Stena Drilling and was named the Balmoral Stena Drilling Tartan 10K. Over 2000 people took part. The men title was won by Keith Hood of Corstorphine Athletics Club with a time of 34 minutes and 1 second. The women winner was Toni McIntosh from Ayrshire with a time of 37 minutes and 7 seconds.

2008 Balmoral Road Race

The Balmoral Road Race 2008 took place on Saturday 26 April 08 and was called the ConocoPhillips 5K at Balmoral Castle. Special prizes for the Balmoral Road Race 2008 included a prize for the first man and woman to cross the finish line wearing a kilt. This was awarded to Neil Graham from Banchory. There were 7000 people taking part in the 5KM, 10KM and the children's races. 2400 entered the Stena Drilling Tartan 10 kilometre road race and the winner was Ross Houston from Edinburgh with a time of 32 minutes and 44 seconds. The winner of the women's race was Lyn Wilson from Aberdeen with a time of 35 minutes and 36 seconds. The women's runner up in the Stena Drilling Tartan 10 kilometre road race was Fiona Thompson from Aberdeen University with a time of 38mins and 41secs.

700 people entered the ConocoPhillips 5 kilometre road race which was won by Bruce Duncan whilst the lady's section winner was Laura Sharp of Moray Road Runners.

The Weatherford secondary schools 2.5KM boys title was won by Adam Gatens from East Kilbride and the girls title was won by Aoife Gatenby of the Gordon Schools in Huntly.

600 children entered the 1.5 kilometre MTM Construction primary schools run which was won by Liam Rae of Auchterellon and the girls event was won by Stacy Innes from Inverurie.

The new event of the Aberdeenshire Disability Sport wheelchair 10KM was won by Jason Gill from Chester whilst the runner up was Mark Telford from Scotland.

The Balmoral Road Race 2007 was sponsored by Stena Drilling and the Balmoral Road Race winner was Robert Russell of Central AC who also set a new record time of 31 minutes and 20 seconds. The woman's winner of the Stena Drilling Tartan 10k race was Fiona Thompson from Aberdeen University with a time of 40 minutes and 12 seconds. Women's runner ups were Alison Winship of Garscube and Helen Johnson of Deeside.

Alan Reid from Peterhead won the over 40 years prize, dressed once again in his running kilt.

1534 runners took part in the Balmoral 10K road race and over 500 children and adults took part in the MTM Primary 1.5km event and the ConocoPhillips 5km event. The male winner for the ConocoPhillips 5km event was Myles Edwards of Aberdeen AAC and the ladies winner was Janette Stevenson from Falkirk

The road race is usually sponsored by local companies and in 2006 it was called the Stena Drilling Tartan 10K. The winners were:
Female Event - Lyn Wilson from Aberdeen with a time of 36 minutes and 23 seconds. She also won another prize for being the first woman to finish wearing a kilt.

Male Event - Juan Mareque from Spain (husband of Lyn Wilson) with a time of 32 minutes and 33 seconds.

World Kilted Title - Alan Reid (Peterhead AAC) wearing his Seaforth Highlanders outfit.

2013 Balmoral Road Race

Application forms and further information about the 2013 Balmoral Road Race can be found at the official website at or at

Run Balmoral has been named one of the best athletic events in the Stewart Road Race Grand Prix calendar 2009.

Balmoral Castle

More Aberdeenshire events.

© Site contents copyright 2004-2024. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy / Disclaimer